Jacksonville: (910) 455-2196 | New Bern: (252) 638-4000

North Carolina Sales Tax – rate reduction effective July 1, 2011

The North Carolina Department of Revenue has issued an important notice to remind taxpayers that the general state tax rate applicable to sales and purchases of tangible personal property, certain digital property, and certain services is decreased to 4.75%, effective July 1, 2011. Consequently, the general state and local tax rate will be 7% in Alexander, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry, and Wilkes Counties; 7.25% in Mecklenburg County; and 6.75% in the remaining 82 counties.

Comments are closed.